The Pit of Ungratefulness

I, my father and two sisters would go in our home in Batangas every Friday night, and our 5-year old youngest brother, Miggy would always request for pasalubong without fail. His requests range from kiddie chocolates to toys and hero apparel depending on his mood and current cartoon show craze he’s in. Two weeks ago, his request was the “Cars” toys in various sizes and colors. The “kuripot” in me of course can’t afford to give him a pasalubong as expensive as that so I opted to buy a “Cars” school supplies that my sister and I bought in Divi. I thought he would like it since he loves drawing and coloring but I was wrong. When he received it, he frowned and complained endlessly and was even furious at me for not following his instructions. My younger sister Buchik has this conversation with Miggy:

Buchik: Hindi ka pa magpasalamat at binigyan ka ng pasalubong.

Miggy: Hindi talaga ako magpapasalamat dahil di naman binigay saken ang ibinilin ko.

This situation makes me think of how it reflects my heart most of time, too. I pray and ask for specific things and sometimes, God will give another. It is not because God is “kuripot” like me. No, he owns the universe. But Him, in His infinite wisdom knows the best gift to give us. It could be because what we ask for will be harmful for us or we’re not yet ready for the blessing. It is in those instances that we forget to be grateful. We sulk and wail like a child for what we don’t have that we miss out on appreciating what we have. What’s worse is when this leads to comparison. Comparison breeds discontentment. Discontentment steals happiness.

Oh, the wonders giving thanks can do. To give thanks in all circumstances and in every gift we receive. To shift focus from what we lack to the abundance we already experience. To be contented with what we have while working and praying for our dreams.

These things we already know but take for granted most of the time. May we maintain a grateful heart everyday of our lives.

 

“Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” – James 1:17 NASB

I'd love to hear from you!

