Retrospective Gratefulness

Being a constant achiever, excellence is somewhat a usual term. Yet looking back in my life and realizing where I am now, I realized I wasn’t really excelling before!

Yes, I was elementary and high school batch valedictorian, a cum laude in college, but why do I have this feeling that I cannot claim credit for it? Why do I think I don’t deserve those titles? It seems to me like I did not work hard for it. And the more I realize how undeserving I am, the more I appreciate GRACE. Yes. It found me at a young age, though I wasn’t aware of it. Undeserved favor. Unmerited gift. Hey, I’m not saying that I was completely passive and the honors I got were totally given in a silver platter. But I know I should have done better. I know I should have exerted much effort. I know I can do better because right now I am doing it the excellent way, with God’s help. :)

But the more I think of it, the more it seems clear. God’s plans for my life. It makes sense to me now. Like a puzzle with few pieces missing. And all the more I praise Him for his faithfulness. And all the more I’d like to boast that it wasn’t me who achieved it. That’s why I love this verse – “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in your weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” -2 Cor 12:9-11

Knowing God’s grace is enough and that He can use me to manifest His power energizes me even more to excel!  And that ironically moves me from being an ACHIEVER to a BELIEVER.

And unlike before when I was totally unaware of it, this time I’m harnessing that special privilege so I can perform greater things! And acknowledging that those are all for His glory. :)

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” – Philippians 4:13

 

(Sudden, random realizations!!)

2 Comments

  1. Buti ka pa, antaas ng mga naabot mo nung nag-aaral ka.

    Ako laging sablay eh. Hehe..

  2. Wala naman po yun sa pinag aralan. :)

I'd love to hear from you!

