How would you celebrate Christmas?

An act of love by an officemate inspired me to write this one. I was humbled by his interest to raise funds for the office’s janitors and drivers as our gift to them for Christmas. I am reminded of one thing from the Bible – “If I do not have love, I am nothing(1Cor 13).

Some of us are eager to receive our 13th month pay and Christmas bonus so we can buy or experience the things we longly wished for. New dresses, shoes, gadgets, vacation trips, parties. And the list goes on. I am no exception. This year, I longed to buy a bike for myself. I’ve always wanted to have one since I love biking in our town, and I also think it would help me in my planned “fitness” program. But I am changing my mind and letting it off for a while. I’m thinking of ways to celebrate Christmas differently this year.

I read over the internet that there are four stages of life. 1. You believe in Santa Claus 2. You do not believe in Santa Claus 3. You are Santa Claus 4. You look like Santa Claus. :D

This year I want to be number three (I don’t want 4!). I hope you’d consider it, too. But you do not have to imitate Santa’s criteria of giving gifts. That one has to be “nice” just to have one. You may be Santa to someone who wasn’t really nice to you. In addition, the best is to be a Santa to those who cannot be Santa to you. Those who cannot pay you back. And yes, you do not need to buy gifts or donate cash. The gift could be YOU. Your time, your effort, your intensified presence to someone. Give yourself. It would be fulfilling. After all, aren’t we inspired by the one reason we celebrate Christmas? The one who, with all His majesty, glory and honor, took our form so He could love us?

Actually, I’m no fan of Santa so I would rephrase my statement above. Be Jesus to someone this Christmas.  Spread His love. Make this Christmas a different one by being a different you.

1Corinthians 16:14 Let everything you do be done in love.

I'd love to hear from you!

